178 thoughts on “:::Beginners Guide:::How To Root the Samsung Galaxy Note 2 (the Safest and Easiest methods)

  1. aweome Blossom..Got it rooted..Thanks a lot man…Can you suggest Some good Custom Roms please…I’m newbie to android..

  2. Please someone answer I have a encrypted note2 can I root using method 2 or do I need to unencrypted first. Cheers rob

  3. Running Odin3 v3.07 as aDMINISTRATOR I get a small message box which says “! odin3.ini ” followed by characters in Chinese / japanese and ONLY AN “ok” button. I’m running Win 7 64 ultimate. Any ideas?

    • Not if everything went well.because if you encountered problems when you are rooting and your phone gets in boot loop then you might have to wipe your data which will erase all your apps .
      But,that won’t if you followed the instructions as mentioned :)

  4. hey dude thanx…my note 2 was sucessfully rooted……..plzz can u tell me how can i unroot it…???

  5. Tried doing with ODIN… it says cant open the serial COM port… and hence failed the process…Need help here.. Please

  6. Hey just tried it, didn’t worked ..in Odin box ” ID : Com ” wasn’t turned blue ann under it the box remaines empty. anyway i tried further browsing file through PDA button again the Reset but didn’t turned blue … Any idea how to solve thia???

  7. Hi, thanks for the Guide. Unfortunately, when I tired to download the specific files for my phone’s model, the link takes me to a database error page! Where could I download these files now?

  8. After down loading the tool kit do or odin do i have tonbe log on to the internet to root the phone

  9. In written instructions it says;
    “4-Make sure to backup your EFS file before proceeding.”
    Can’t find out how to do this?
    Any suggestions, Thanks.

    • You should download it so you can install it.And you should install it so your computer recognize your Samsung Device. Obviously you should install it on your computer like you install any normal program.
      I hope that explains.

  10. mine just says “all threads completed” by doesn’t have the pass, and my phone is stuck on the android downloading thing, and I can’t get it to leave…is my phone just stuck like this now?

  11. My phone has said “downloading…. do not turn off target!!” for about 30 minutes already. Is this normal? It’s making me nervous.

  12. Best instructions ever. Clearly laid out so that even a caveman can do it! You should enter the corporate world of how to manual writing. LOL

  13. I have tried the odin approach several times now, but nothing seems to be happening. In the odin message log the last message is setupConnection..
    I have left it working for up to 30min, any ideas?
    N7100, win7 x64, running odin in admin mode.

    • Message log from odin:
      Enter CS for MD5..
      Check MD5.. Do not unplug the cable..
      Please wait..
      CF-Auto-Root-t03g-t03gxx-gtn7100.tar.md5 is valid.
      Checking MD5 finished Sucessfully..
      Leave CS..
      Added!!
      Odin v.3 engine (ID:4)..
      File analysis..
      SetupConnection..

      // At this point i gave up and powered off my phone..
      Complete(Write) operation failed.
      All threads completed. (succeed 0 / failed 1)
      Removed!!

  14. i dont see any pass but this is what t said All threads completed. (succeed 0 / failed 0)
    Added!!
    and my phone says “downloading…. do not turn off target!!” what do i do now?

  15. my phone cant connect to my laptop as it keeps detecting. and it comes out as (succeed 0 / failed 0) in the odin program.. can anyone help me?

    • Probably your problem is in the drivers.
      Did you install the drivers mentioned in the guide above ?
      if so, please un-install them and re-install them again.
      If that didn’t solve your problem try connecting the Note 2 directly to your computer by not using a USB hub.
      try changing USB ports as well

  16. I opted for Framaroot since it is an apk that runs directly on the phone (galaxy note 2). It was the only way possible since most guides require a connection to a Windows computer and I’m running linux. Thank you howtoteachers for all of your work supporting the moding community.

  17. Hey thanks for this detailed method of how to root phone. I was wondering if you have heard from anyone or if you know personally if these methods would work for my Galaxy Note 2 SCH-R950 through US Cellular?

  18. Hi, I’m new to this. May I know am I still able to update the firmware if there is any new release from Samsung after I rooted my note 2?

  19. you should tell people up front before they start to uninstall the samsung KIES app for Windows since they ask you to do that during the USB driver installation

  20. I’ve followed ur instruction but it seems the phone still not being rooted. Anything that I missed out? :|

    Initialzation..
    Get PIT for mapping..
    Firmware update start..
    recovery.img
    NAND Write Start!!
    cache.img
    RQT_CLOSE !!
    RES OK !!
    Removed!!
    Completed..
    All threads completed. (succeed 1 / failed 0)

  21. OMG! that was fast! it only take less than 5 minutes to root. btw this is a very nice Guide and easy for a beginner like me! Two Thumbs up! more power!

    successfully rooted: Galaxy Note II (SHV-E250S) LTE

  22. hi there, i want to know about root on note 2. is it we need to root in order to move apps from internal memory to memory card?thank you so much..

  23. thank you for the information given … it works like a charm … now I am looking for a safest kernel since I am using a galaxy note 1 before ” Philz” is the safest kernel in case I experience Problem I just flash that and My device is clean again due to ability to clean EMMC

Comments are closed.